Small Homes

I close my bedroom door to change
though no one’s home
and there’s very little chance
someone would come home right now.
That’s not why it’s closed.
I like the comfort of small spaces in the home.
Curling up in bed, on the couch, on the black wooden chairs.
It’s not so much privacy as it is a desire to be close.
I always wanted to be buried in the couch cushions as a child.

I hate open floor plans,
I need the comfort of small cozy rooms
and their support of closeness.
I long for tight hugs,
their sense of warm security.
Nothing can harm me when I’m curled up compactly.

Tagged

One thought on “Small Homes

  1. “I long for tight hugs,
    their sense of warm security.”

    in the end, what we all yearn for is security. well put!

Leave a Reply

