Outside the Enclosed Self

I want to show a side of me unseen,
to be naked in a new form
while still clothed.
It’s a need I’ve never felt,
an intense desire from within
the most inner crevice of this soul.

How did this come to be?
I’m bare and vulnerable
to examination.
I Intended to never return
to this stark, raw state,
I’d added countless covers
the last time.

What does the viewer see in me?
(Should I even care?)
Am I beautiful?
(Should the viewer decide this for me?)

Here I am, I’m naked.
Join me and we won’t hurt
one another while we’re so bare.

**This poem was for a prompt in which I could not use any hanging letters.

Tagged

One thought on “Outside the Enclosed Self

  1. “an intense desire from within
    the most inner crevice of this soul.”

    through poetry we bare our deepest desires, for poetry shields them in a veil of silk.
    you’ve expressed that beautifully. love it ((:

Leave a Reply

