Attempted Ruin

You promised your affection
but I needed more than words.
I climbed and climbed
to test you my dear,
it’s terrible but it’s true.

I reached the top of the building,
the one we walked past every morning,
with shaky legs
tears on cheeks
worst of intentions.
I called to tell you I was there.

I wanted to see the depth of you and I
in your blue green eyes
and have you coax me off the ledge
with affirmations of your endearment.

Then I saw your terrified expression
and heard you plead my name.
I wished I’d never caused such pain
to wrap around your being.

I jumped to you
and felt your shaking arms
against my shaking chest.
We fell to the floor in a crying heap
never to question each other again.

Tagged

One thought on “Attempted Ruin

  1. “We fell to the floor in a crying heap
    never to question each other again.”

    beautiful and true. we question love so much nowadays… too much almost…

Leave a Reply

