Tangled Up In This

I’m biting my lip terribly hard.
Not enough to bleed, mind you.
I’m not masochistic
but I need to release this
tension that coils within
and the twisty thoughts
that flit about like sand flies
over drying seaweed.

I want so badly to be angry.
I need hatred as a curtain
to keep out my bright hope
and forgiveness,
but I can’t seem to figure out
how to feel rage
when I need it the most.

If things could just get better
I wouldn’t feel so contained
and sit here biting my lip,
so frustrated by it all.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

