in transit

I hated work. I hated school. I loved you. My favorite part of each day was riding the subway with you. Sometimes I’d find myself smiling just thinking about going home. We’d wrap ourselves around the same pole in the morning and whisper to each other about all the odd people. When the subway lurched, you’d catch me. When it was crowded, you’d hold me to you so we were tightly knit together. Some nights it would be entirely empty and we’d play games or dance in the aisle. If I was too tired we’d find two seats in the corner and forget about the rest of the world. We’d listen to your music on shared earphones and our stop would come too quickly.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

