Poem for Sandra Simonds

This poem is written like Sandra Simond’s poem “Poem to David Schubert.”

Scrambled down the stairs and there was darkness scrambled down the stairs
light to the forest and saw the giant redwoods scrambled to the forest

why can’t you see what’s happening why can’t you see the inevitable?
Ran all the way to the clearing, ran to the cottage for advice.

May I seek your advice, wise cottage, may I seek my sister has ruined
me for the most valuable advice for the most valuable advice she why

can’t you sit with me on the bench on the bluff when the clouds are the clouds again?
Summer ended and she was no longer my sister why can’t you sit

Scrambled down the stairs to the crooked and warped stairs when the clouds were the clouds she says
the road of here will provide the wisest of advice and there’s nothing more to know.

Sister, will you give me your map or your watch, angel, will you let me hear
you sing? Scrambled down the stairs and it was light scrambled to the stairs of stone.

A scowling angel waited by the cottage and recited the most valuable advice.
Will you give me your silvery cloak or watch, angel, will you let me hear you sing?

Seek out the wisest advice and revel in the wisdom and see the inevitable, my angel,
Sit with me on the bench on the bluff sit with me by the cottage
for the clouds are the clouds again.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

