stay a while longer

You shouldn’t have let me leave that night. You should have stopped me before I walked outside into the cold and empty night. You should have taken my hand as I walked away and pulled me close to you. You should have kissed me right there in front of the others, then told them you could take me home later. You should have told me that you wanted nothing more than to be with me. You should have led me back to your couch in front of the sparkling fire.
We should have sat there staring at each other and wordlessly said to each other that this was perfect. We should have really told each other how we felt. We should have stayed up all night appreciating every second together. We should have run away from everything that was trying to keep us apart. We should have watched the night sky as it changed from bright stars to the crisp light of morning. We should have said everything we were keeping inside.
I shouldn’t have even moved toward the door. I shouldn’t have put my coat on as if it were the only option. I should have held you a little tighter as we hugged goodbye. I should have kissed you right there in front of the others, then told them I’d go home later. I should have told you I wanted nothing more than to be with you. I shouldn’t have left that night.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

