Heated

I can see the entire city from up here but really, I don’t even want to look. I’m only gazing into the valley so I can hold back the words, the tears, the pain. You put your arm around me and I flinch at your touch and push you away. I hate when you pretend like things are even in the neighborhood of fine. You call me baby and the anger is hot behind my eyes. I stand up and walk away from the bench we’ve called ours for years. I can breathe more freely away from you and this assures me that I am making the right decision. I don’t want you in my life. I’m fine without you. I’m better without you. You’ll think about me for years and realize that I was the best thing that ever happened to you, and I won’t even be thinking about you anymore. I drive away and don’t look back.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

