the night is getting darker

The sky is slowly becoming the colors of orange sherbet. We’ve been watching the sunset in a thick silence. I look over at you, sitting next to me on this grey boulder above the city and I wonder what you’re thinking. I’m staring at your profile, pondering your possible thoughts when you suddenly notice and look back at me. I can tell I’m blushing as I look down at my ripped jeans and dirty white tennis shoes. I play with my thumb ring as I feel you staring at me.
“You don’t have to always be so quiet, you know.” You say to me softly.
I look up at you as you speak but I lower my gaze again as I think about what you’ve said.
“Actually, I don’t think I have a choice.” I say.
“And why is that?”
“No reason.” I reply and feel myself blush again.
“Are you blushing?” You ask with a smile.
“Um…no, I think it must be sunburn from the hike earlier.” I lie.
“I see.“ You say, sounding skeptical.
“Well we should probably get going before too long, it’s going to be dark soon.” I say.
I stand up and brush the dirt from the back of my jeans when you stop me by grabbing my hand.
“Can we just stay a little longer? I like sitting here with you.”
My mouth and brain seem unable to communicate but I manage to nod and sit back down, your hand still carefully gripping mine. My heart rate is surely off the charts at this point and I am doing everything I can just to seem relaxed.
“What are you thinking about?”
“Honestly?”
“Yes.”
“I’m wondering what we’re doing, I’m wondering if you like me, I’m wondering what’s going to happen next, and I’m worrying about suppressing all these questions racing through my head.” I say.
“You could just ask me any of those questions, you know.” You say, smiling.
“I normally keep these kind of questions up in my head.”
“Well you don’t need to. Ask away.”
“Okay…well then what are we doing?”
“We’re sitting here watching the day become night, I’m holding your hand, and you’re freaking out a little bit.”
“I’m not freaking out,” I say somewhat bitterly.
“Alright fine, that was just my analysis of the situation. Please continue with your questions.”
“So next question was: do you like me? But you don’t have to answer that one if you don’t want to.”
You pause, still smiling and say, “I don’t mind answering at all. Of course I like you, everyone knows this. Well…everyone but you it seems.”
“Are you being serious with me?”
“I wouldn’t lie to you.”
“Well I like you too.” I say, looking into your dark eyes that always seem so welcoming.
You smile and squeeze my hand a little.
“So what’s going to happen next?”
“Well I’m going to kiss you then we’ll finish watching the sunset and that’s all I’ve planned so far.”
Butterflies of excitement fly through my stomach and it’s the best feeling in the world. You kiss me and the butterflies increase rapidly. The sky is now a dark purple and we climb down the boulders and walk through the trees, crunching leaves under our shoes. It’s so quiet it almost seems scary but I am unable to feel anything but happiness as your hand clings to mine. We listen to soft music on your iPod as we drive back down the hill and I wish more than anything that I could capture this night in a bottle.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

